The publication “Intelligent Transport Systems for sustainable mobility”, funded by SINA - Società Iniziative Nazionali Autostradali - in Italy, was produced, initiated and prepared by the UNECE Transport Division in cooperation with the secretaries of the Division. The Transport Division wishes to express its sincere thanks to all those who contributed to this publication, either with articles or administrative services. A special thanks goes to the German Federal Ministry of Transport, Building and Urban Development and the Italian Ministry of Infrastructure and Transport for their consistent support of the UNECE related ITS activities. Additional thanks is expressed to those who contributed to the public consultation: Ministry of Transport, Azerbaijan; Federal Public Service Mobility and Transport, Belgium; Republic of Bulgaria, Ministry of Transport, Information Technology and Communications; Transport Canada; European Commission, DG MOVE; Ministry of Ecology, Sustainable Development, Transport and Housing, France; Israel National Road Safety Authority; Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism (MLIT), Japan; Ministry of Infrastructure and the Environment, Netherlands; Norwegian Public Roads Administration; Department of Transport Policy and International Affairs, Ministry of Infrastructure Republic of Poland; Ministry of Enterprise, Energy and Communications, Sweden; Federal Department of Environment, Transport, Energy and Communication, Switzerland; Mr. Helmut Meelich, TEM/TER Project Manager; Department of Transport, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland; Mr. Hermann Meyer, for ERTICO - ITS Europe; Mr. Nico Anten for Connekt/ITS Netherlands; Mr. Vladimir Kryuchkov, CEO for ITS Russia; Dr. Paul Vorster, for ITS South Africa; Mr. Richard Harris for ITS UK; Dr. Costas Panou, Asst. Professor of Transportation Dept. Shipping, Trade & Transport Aegean University - Business School, Greece; Dr. Arpad Torok (PhD) for the KTI - Institute for Transport Sciences; Mr. Jorge Acha-Daza for the Mexican Transport Institute; ASECAP - European Association of Operators of Toll Road Infrastructure, Brussels; Ms. Caroline Visser for the International Road Federation (IRF); Mr. Amin Aschdjai-Benissi for Kapsch Traffic Com, Vienna; Mr. Yves van der Straaten for the International Organization of Motor Vehicle Manufacturers, OICA.